Music Monday: When the Saints Go Rockin’ Out

Sometimes for Music Monday I post inspiring music. Sometimes I post great yoga music. Sometimes, I just really want to rock out.

My mother’s been insisting that I visit her in New Orleans since she moved there. I’ve put it off and put it off and put it off because I’m convinced that she’s going to try convincing me to move in there (“But the movie industry down here is booming!”).

Yes, mother, I know. However, being an extra in one of the Twilight movies isn’t exactly what I call “career advancement.” Still, since I am finally going down to visit, I thought I’d share this week a little rockin’ tune seemingly sort-of inspired by one of the classics, “When the Saints Go Marching In.”

I’ll be honest—this is one of those songs that I have no idea where it came from, and it’s far from the style I normally listen to. Every now and then I get curious and click on one of Youtube’s Recommended Links, and every now and then, I’m really pleased with the results.

“Saints at the Gates” is a Silent Comedy “Bartholomew”-style riff on “When the Saints Go Marching In,” but it has about as much in common with the inspiration as Fergie/Q-Tip/Goonrock’s “A Little Party Never Killed Nobody” has with “It Don’t Mean a Thing if it Ain’t Got That Swing.” That is to say, it’s like those mothers who dressed their daughters up as miniature versions of themselves came home one night to discover in the worst possible way that their daughter became Jessica Alba’s character from Sin City.

The drums and opening verse set this up to be a mindless head-thrasher, but in the later half, the slurring trumpets and sloppy unison chorus mixes the timeless struggle of brass on its last legs with the aural equivalent of neon lights and drunken calls of today’s Big Easy. The resulting dichotomy is a mixture that smolders on the ears in a way that’s at times striking and at times strangely intoxicating.

Like absinthe and cheap whiskey.

~

Photo: Bearseye/Flickr

Leave a Reply

