Music Monday: Music Makers & Dreamers of Dreams

4810472273_9c9bc642df_z

What the world needs now…

~

I like to say that there are two types of people in the world: people who do things well, and people who market the things they do well. Maybe there’s really four types of people, counting those who are good at both or neither, but generally speaking, I think most of us fall into one of those two categories.

So when I say “I hate hip hop,” what I really mean is, “I hate the hip hop that most often crosses my path.” What I’ve begun to discover is the contrary, actually: with an ear to the right channels, I think there’s good music out there in genres I don’t really explore.

Except country. I might die before I find a country song that I can get behind like this.

We get caught up a lot in what the world needs, don’t we? A bit of real talk here: what the world needs is for you to find what you love to do, because chances are, someone out there is going to love your doing of that.

I don’t know a lot about Windmills; we were just introduced. They don’t have an iTunes page from what I can find, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t good; it just means they don’t have a marketing team working for them. I can get behind that.

What I love about old school rap is that it was full of real talk like this, distilled in a way that somehow made it easy to digest. Supposedly, the improvisation of singing or rhyming makes it more difficult to lie to oneself or others; something with how our brain works. Yeah, I don’t have a study to cite for that, but that doesn’t stop me from maybe being correct. This track feels like that. The smooth intro is evocative of a long evening, the kind where you’re not sure you want the sun to finish going down; it’s a similar feeling I’ve noted in certain tracks from Tycho or Nujabes.

The rhymes are solid, and I have to add props for not using extraneous swears for metric filler. If I was to level a criticism at the track at all, it would be that “Music Makers & Dreamers of Dreams” does occasionally have a tendency to turn self-reflective, which risks edging into the realm of vanity, but I can forgive it on this track, because rather than focusing on one element (e.g. “greatness,” a common topic on today’s Top 40 rap tracks, or 99% of anything released by Kanye), the speaker uses the lyrics and the music to paint pictures of his world. If graffiti is the visual art of hip hop, this track is a 3D cityscape. A picture’s worth a thousand words, right? Well, a good poet can do it in a fraction.

So, if hip hop’s not your thing, sorry. There’s always next week! Until then, here’s to what the world needs!

~

Shoutout to Marcus, aka Epic Name Bro, by whose work I was introduced to this track.

Photo: Z Egloff /Flickr

